Tuesdays with Binary!

I am stagnating and therefore am starting “Tuesdays with Binary.”  The concept has been lifted from a blog I used to read a while back. The basic idea is I give a word, some random word and anyone who steps into my world can use that word in any which way they please. You can write a post, quote a verse, compose a poem, a haiku, stick a picture, or even link an older post or someone who reminds of something pertaining to that word. Simple eh!!

I used to do this a while back and realized the creativity it demanded. I have always thought of myself as a creative person, but somehow in the slap-dash, bing-bang ways of daily life it takes a back seat. I was reading a beautiful article on how Google is making us stupid. It kind of hit me hard. Since finishing up with my degree, I have gone back to the one thing that I absolutely love-reading books. I got this amazing book out, something I have been wanting to read for ages and sat with it. 10 minutes later, I was bored, couldn’t focus and was looking up too many things on wikipedia for explanation. I assumed I did not like that book anymore, and left it at that. Reading this article struck a chord. It is not I who has changed, it is only the way I read that has changed. I have been used to reading small chapters or skimming through 10 page articles looking for bytes I could use or trying to figure out the essence of the argument. I would usually google up relevant words, look up the results, choose articles of relevance, print them out and mark appropriate paragraphs. In short, it did not require much of my attention. Reading books, reading poetry usually kick starts my imagination and that is what makes me creative. There is a difference in imagining things and imagination that makes you do creative things. The “Tuesday word” I am hoping will do that again for me. It will help me concentrate on something, think about something constant and help me get out of a rut. Writing should not be forced I know, but sometimes the best works are the ones that come under pressure.

So with much fanfare, I unveil my first Tuesday word : See (Like in I saw this, I am seeing this or I would love to see that) Go on get rolling. Let me see all the ways this word can be used. One liners, 10 liners any way you please.

About Binaryfootprint

Don't just hover, put the shoes on and start walking. www.binaryfootprints.wordpress.com View all posts by Binaryfootprint

3 responses to “Tuesdays with Binary!

  • Prashant

    Hmmm, reg the Tuesday’s Binary, good creative start..
    By the way did you mean the seeing of the things which people see yet are unseen or the things which which are obviously unseen to the naked eye…? 😉

  • Lekhni

    I see what you are saying. What was that – “we have no time to stop and stare”. I guess it’s all the constant info overload. Plus, all media is now reduced to sound bytes. No one has patience for anything that stretches beyond a few lines.

  • Cacophoenix

    @ Prashant: I meant seeing things. We tend to usually look at things and not really take the time to see. It is an unfair generalization, but something that I have seen people do a lot. So seeing as in really absorbing what is being seen. Thanks for doing it…

    @Lekhni: Yes, Precisely. Kind of why I am using the word see. I was at a scenic spot just sittiing and watching the birds fly around and enjoying the wind, when this guy got out of the car, came to me and asked what I was doing…I said watching those hawks and he said oh! turned around clicked two pictures and dashed away. It is amazing how he could do that.
    Thanks for dropping by. Hope to see you around.

Leave a Reply

